10 Signs You’re a Writerholic

1 Jul

I have a confession to make and you better be prepared because it will shock you!

“Hi, my names Sasha and I’m a writerholic!”

(Ooops not such a shock, I gave it away in the title, my bad!) I’ve been feeling it for a while now, feeling I was getting addicted, feeling an un-healthy dependency on my pen and notebook.  It started off all quite innocently and under control, me a simple blogger carrying around a tiny notebook to jot down random observations while on my travels.  That was it, a few describing sentences here and there. Then just because I started a blog and had a few readers who were expecting to read one of my amazing posts I wrote those jottings up into a more than necessary amount of words and ‘Voila!’ I had become a blogger. Now that was fine until something changed.

I was never much of a journal writer, you know the whole “Today I had a date, OMG that guy was so cute I think I could marry him!” I don’t write that crap! Generally I never would even write about daily life outside of travel, life’s not that interesting! But then something changed, my life changed and suddenly I had so much more to say. However because I already talk a lot (and I really mean a lot!) and no one really wants to listen to even more of my rambling, I had to turn to something else and it’s that thing that turned into a terrible addiction!

There was my notebook, sitting there on my bookshelf, staring up at me, clean, crisp pages ready to have their virginity taken from them.  And so I took that notebooks virginity and pretty soon it was getting some all the time!

I got obsessive, I wanted it all the time, anywhere, any time. I wanted to jot every observations, every thought about life, love, travel, blogging, my favourite bands and that horrid outfit I saw some girl wearing! I realised this had gone beyond a few notes and a few blog posts, this had gone to the extream.  I have become a writerholic, writing had become my vice!

l

10 Signs You’re a Writerholic

  1. You have dreams (and nightmares) about writing.
  2. Your wrists ache from overuse…(Get your mind out of the gutter I’m talking about writing you dirty dog!)
  3. You stop confiding in real people and start confiding in your notebook.
  4. You’re excited to find out that your new Android phone has a WordPress app so you can update your blog on the go!
  5. You carry your notebook everywhere and not just carry it but actually use it everywhere.  You even write while walking (and almost crash in to numerous light poles and a fair few innocent people on their morning commute).
  6. You read about writing when you’re not writing.
  7. You keep starting new blogs.
  8. You can’t stop talking about writing and even start talking about it with your non-writer friends who quite frankly don’t give a hoot!
  9. You have a panic attack when you find your pen has run out of ink and you’re nowhere near a stationary store.
  10. You stop getting excited about buying shoes and instead get excited about buying new notebooks.

l

Are you a writerholic? If there’s enough of us out there we should start a Writerholics Anonymous (WA) support group!…

Leave a Reply

